703 Canadian Case Law, Statutes and Regulations

Nova Scotia(Electronic & Print)

[Last updated May 9, 2007]
Court of Appeal, Supreme Court, Family Court, Provincial Court, and Small Claims Court

CanLII, Nova Scotia Court of Appeal at http://www.canlii.org/en/ns/nsca/index.html.  Earliest decisions from July 1993, but primarily opinions from 1999 forward. Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

CanLII, Nova Scotia Supreme Court at http://www.canlii.org/en/ns/nssc/index.html.  Earliest decision from July 1995, but complete coverage begins in January 1999.  Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

CanLII, Nova Scotia Supreme Court, Family Division at http://www.canlii.org/en/ns/nssf/index.html.  Decisions from January 2001. Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

CanLII, Provincial Court of Nova Scotia at http://www.canlii.org/en/ns/nspc/index.html.  Decisions from June 2000, but complete coverage from January 2002 forward. Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

The Courts of  Nova Scotia web page at http://www.courts.ns.ca/.  Access decisions from links for Court of Appeal and Supreme Court from that page.  Court rules, media guide, juror information, fees, and other useful links.

CanLII, Nova Scotia Small Claims Court at http://www.canlii.org/en/ns/nssm/index.html.  Selected judgments from 2000 forward.  Searchable by keyword, citation or docket number, and browse by date or case name.

-----

Nova Scotia Reports, v. 1-25, 27-35, 37, 40-42, 48, 54-60 are currently accessible in the LLMC-Digital database through library's restricted Research Databases page.  Plans are for volumes 1-60 (1834-1929) to be available.

In print:

Atlantic Provinces Reports - from v. 1 (1975) to v. 658 (2003). [KE150 A23]

Maritime Provinces Reports - 1929-1968 [KE150 M37]

Eastern Law Reporter - 1906-1914 [KE150 E38]

Dominion Law Reports - [KE132 A25]

Following links require subscriber ID: 

LexisNexis Nova Scotia Cases file coverage begins in 1969; LexisNexis Dominion Law Reports file from 1912. 

Westlaw Nova Scotia Cases database begins in 1979.

Statutes and Regulations

Consolidated Statutes of Nova Scotia and the Regulations of Nova Scotia are available through CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/ns/laws/index.html.

Nova Scotia Sessional Volumes & Revisions, v. 1889, 1896, 1898, 1902-05, 1907-12, 1915-16, 1920-26, 1930-45 are accessible in the LLMC-Digital database through library's restricted Research Databases page.

Following links require subscriber ID:

Nova Scotia Statutes on Westlaw

Nova Scotia Regulations on Westlaw.

 

advanced search