703 Canadian Case Law, Statutes and Regulations

Canadian Federal Reporters, Statutes, Regulations, & Constitution (Electronic & Print)

[Last updated June 25, 2007]


Federal Courts

Supreme Court of Canada

Court website at http://www.lexum.umontreal.ca/csc-scc/en/index.html.  Sponsored by the Court and the University of Montreal.  Decisions from January 1983 forward. Keyword search or browse by volume of the Canada Supreme Court Reports.  Opinions in html, text, and WordPerfect 6.1.  Also, weekly bulletins and news releases.

Canadian Legal Information Institute (CanLII) at http://www.canlii.org/en/ca/scc/index.html.  Searchable opinions starting in January 1985 and selected opinions from 1983-84.   Searchable by keyword in full text or party name, by citation or docket number.  Browsable by party name and date/month.

In print: 

Canada Supreme Court Reports - from 1970 to date.  [KE140 A25]*

Canada Law Reports--Supreme Court - 1923-1969 [KE140 A25]

Canada Supreme Court Reports - 1876-1922 [KE140 A24]

Dominion Law Reports - (1st-4th Series) - federal and provincial court decisions from 1912 to v. 221 of the 4th Series (2003). [KE132 A25]

Following link requires subscriber ID:

LexisNexis begins coverage in 1876 & Westlaw begins in 1979. 
LexisNexis covers the Dominion Law Reports from 1912 forward.  ** 

Federal Court of Canada (Appeal Division); formerly Exchequer Court of Canada

Court website at http://decisions.fct-cf.gc.ca/fct/index.html.  Decisions of the Court from September 1992 forward.  1992-1996 are primarily opinions published in the Federal Court Reports. Keyword search in full text, by neutral citation, or by docket number.  Browsable by party name or year of decision.  Opinions include both Appeal Division and Trial Division cases.

CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/en/ca/fca/index.html.  Decisions from 1992 forward.  Only selected decisions are available prior to 1998.  Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year.

Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs at http://reports.fja.gc.ca/pages_index.cfm?lang=en.  Text of the opinions as published in the Federal Court Reports from 1993 forward.  Keyword search in full text or party name.  Browse by volume of the reporter. Opinions from both the Appeal and Trial Divisions. Does not include the most recent opinions.  See sites above.

-----

Exchequer Reports of Canada, v. 1-21 are currently accessible in the LLMC-Digital database through library's restricted Research Databases page.

In print: 

Federal Court Reports - decisions from 1971 forward. [KE142 A26]

Dominion Law Reports - [KE132 A25]

Exchequer Court Reports - decisions prior to 1971.  [KE142 A25]

Following links require subscriber ID:   

LexisNexis coverage begins Federal Court coverage in 1971; LexisNexis covers Exchequer Court Reports from 1882-1970.   LexisNexis covers the Dominion Law Reports from 1912 forward.  

Westlaw begins Federal Court coverage in 1971; Westlaw coverage of Exchequer Court from 1875-1970 is part of the CANFED-CS database.

Federal Court of Canada (Trial Division)

Court website at http://decisions.fct-cf.gc.ca/fct/index.html is the same as for Appeals Division.  Trial Division opinions are not separated from the Appeal Division cases.

CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/en/ca/fct/index.html contains Trial Division opinions from 1992 forward.  However, the web site notes that the years 1992-1997 do not have comprehensive coverage.  Keyword searchable.  Also browse by party names or year.

Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs at http://reports.fja.gc.ca/index_en.html.  Text of the opinions as published in the Federal Court Reports from 1993 forward.  Same database as above under Appeal Division.

In print, see Appeal Division above.

Tax Court of Canada

Tax Court's website at http://www.tcc-cci.gc.ca/main_e.htm.  Text of opinions of the Tax Court from 1997 forward plus two opinions from 1996.  Browse by year, party name, or search by docket number.  Also browse for opinions under particular tax laws.

CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/en/ca/tcc/index.html.  Searchable decisions as posted on Tax Court's website from January 1998 forward plus selected opinions from 1996-97. Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year.  Decisions posted for the year 1997 are also incomplete.

Following links require subscriber ID: 

LexisNexis coverage begins in 1993; Westlaw begins 1979.

Federal Statutes and Regulations (note dates of currency for each site)

Consolidated Statutes of Canada, Consolidated Regulations of Canada, Constitution, annual session laws, and the Charter of Rights and Freedoms, and direct links to other commonly accessed statutes (official website) accessible from Canadian Department of Justice at http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/notice/index.html?redirect=/en/index.html.

Acts of the Parliament of Canada, v. 1867-1873 & 1875-1945 are currently accessible in the LLMC-Digital database through library's restricted Research Databases page.  Plans are for volumes 1867-1984 to be available.

Annual Statutes of Canada (1995 to date) accessible through CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/ca/sta/.

Acts of the Parliament of Canada (HeinOnline: commercial database, SMU only; Press <Enter Site> button.)  Currently, 2000-2005.

Consolidated Statutes of Canada and Consolidated Regulations of Canada (current editions) accessible through CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/ca/sta/

Following links require subscriber ID: 

Consolidated Statutes of Canada with updates are also available on LexisNexis or Westlaw; Consolidated Regulations of Canada with updates on LexisNexis or Westlaw.

Canada Gazette (Canadian Gov't) at http://canadagazette.gc.ca/index-e.html.  Current issues and archives back to parts I & II, vol. 132 (1998) and part III, vol. 21 (1998).  Part I contains notices and proposed regulations, Part II contains official regulations, and Part III contains acts of the Canadian Parliament.

In print:

Statutes of Canada (1934 to date).  [KF88 (yr.) (vol.)]  [Example: KE88 2002 v.2].

Constitution

For a worthwhile explanation of the Canadian constitution, its evolution, and more recent developments, see the Canadian Embassy's Canada's Constitution page [last updated June 10, 2005].

For the text of the Canadian constitutional documents, go to CanLII at http://www.canlii.org/ca/const_en/index.html [last visited May 2007] of go to the Canadian Department of Justice website at http://laws.justice.gc.ca/en/notice/index.html?redirect=/en/index.html.  Here will be found the Constitution Act of 1867 and the Constitution Act of 1982 which includes the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms.

Kennedy, W.P.M., Documents of the Canadian Constitution, 1759-1915 (1918).  The text of collection is accessible on the LLMC-Digital database through the library's restricted Research Databases web page.

 


*-Call number for each reporter appears in brackets. All Canadian reporters are shelved on the 4th floor of the Law Library.

**-LexisNexis & Westlaw information from the coverage notes in the jurisdictional database for the particular court or province. Check Westlaw and LexisNexis for changes in coverage and for alternate and combined databases. _uacct = "UA-1691595-11"; urchinTracker();

advanced search