703 Canadian Case Law, Statutes and Regulations

British Columbia (Electronic & Print)

[Last updated May 9, 2007]

Court of Appeal, Supreme Court, and Provincial Court

B.C. Court of Appeal website at: http://canadaonline.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ&sdn=canadaonline&zu
=http://www.courts.gov.bc.ca/
Text of "Reasons for Judgments" from the Court of Appeal and the B.C. Supreme Court from 1990 forward.  See links under tab "Search  Judgments."  Browse by year or keyword search database for all cases or for decisions of a single court.

Supreme Court of British Columbia website at: http://canadaonline.about.com/gi/dynamic/offsite.htm?zi=1/XJ&sdn=canadaonline&zu=
http://www.courts.gov.bc.ca/
See link to search the "Reasons for Judgment" by keyword searching or browse by year.  See links under tab "Search  Judgments."  Browse by year or keyword search database for all cases or for decisions of a single court.

Provincial Court of British Columbia website at:
http://www.provincialcourt.bc.ca/.  Click on link to "Judgment Database." Decisions from 1999 forward.  Keyword searchable full text.

CanLII, B.C. Court of Appeal at:
http://www.canlii.org/en/bc/bcca/index.html.  Earliest opinion from September 1984, but full coverage from 1990 forward. Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

CanLII, B.C. Supreme Court at:
http://www.canlii.org/en/bc/bcsc/index.html.  Earliest opinion from February 1982, but decisions of the court from January 1990 forward.  Family law decisions are excluded after Sept. 1, 2002. Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

CanLII, B.C. Provincial Court at:
http://www.canlii.org/en/bc/bcpc/index.html.  Earliest opinion from August 1991.  Complete coverage from 2000 forward.  Searchable by keyword in full text or party name.  Browsable by party name and year/month.

-----

British Columbia Law Reports, v. 39-44, 46-63 are currently accessible in the LLMC-Digital database through library's restricted Research Databases page.  Plans are for volumes 1-63 (1895-1946) to be available.

In print:

Western Weekly Reports - from 1911 to 2003 (v. 3).  [KE156 W53]

Dominion Law Reports - [KE132 A25]

Following links require subscriber ID: 

LexisNexis British Columbia Cases file begins in 1991; LexisNexis Dominion Law Reports file from 1912.

Westlaw British Columbia Law Reports database begins selective coverage in 1867 and comprehensive coverage in 1977.  Westlaw Western Weekly Reports database from 1911.

British Columbia -  Statutes and Regulations

See CanLII web site for links and instructions for updating B.C. laws and regulations at http://www.canlii.org/en/bc/laws_index.html.

British Columbia Statutes, Sessional Volumes and Revisions (1890-92, 1899, 1907, 1909, 1911-13, 1915-19, 1923, 1925, 1928, 1931-32, 1934-37, 1940 pt. 1, 1941-42, 1945-51, 1953, pt. 1, 1954-57, 1961-1971, 1973-95) are currently accessible in the LLMC-Digital database through library's restricted Research Databases page.

Following links require subscriber ID: 

Consolidated Statutes of British Columbia on LexisNexis or Westlaw.  

Consolidated Regulations of British Columbia on LexisNexis or Westlaw.

advanced search