102 Local Law Libraries
DALLAS COUNTY
Dallas County Law Library
The Dallas County Law Library has two locations. The Civil Law Collection is located at the George Allen Courts Building and the Criminal Law Division is located at the Frank Crowley Courts Building.
|
Address:
|
Civil Law Collection, George Allen Courts Building, 600 Commerce Street, 2nd floor, Dallas, TX 75202
Criminal Law Collection, Frank Crowley Courts Building, 133 N. Industrial Blvd., 1st Floor, Dallas TX 75207 |
|
Phone:
|
Civil Law Library: (214) 653-7481 Criminal Law Library: (214) 653-5990
|
|
Hours:
|
M-F 8am-5pm
|
|
Home Page:
|
http://www.dallascounty.org/department/plandev/law_intro.php |
|
Notes:
|
In addition to federal and state primary sources, legal digests and encyclopedias, the collections also include legal practice guides and formbooks. Lawyers with a Texas state bar card may check out selected materials for a limited time. Both collections are accessible to the public. |
Dallas Public Library
|
Address:
|
History and Social Sciences Division, 8th floor, 1515 Young Street, Dallas, TX 75201 |
|
Phone:
|
(214) 670-1424
|
|
Hours:
|
M CLOSED
T, F, Sat 10am-6pm
W, Th 12pm-8pm
Sun 1pm-5pm
|
|
Home Page:
|
http://dallaslibrary.org/
|
|
Notes:
|
The collection includes legal materials consisting of federal and Texas statutes and court reporters, legal encyclopedias and legal sources for non-lawyers. Selected materials for Texas legislative history research are also available. The Library's catalog is accessible at http://catalog.dallaslibrary.org/.
|
Richardson Public Library
|
Address:
|
900 Civic Center Drive (located on Arapaho Road, one block west of Central Expressway), Richardson, TX 75080
|
|
Phone:
|
(972) 744-4350
|
|
Hours:
|
M-Th 10am-9pm
F-Sat 10am-6pm
Sun 2pm-6pm
|
|
Home Page:
|
http://www.cor.net/library
|
|
Notes:
|
The collection includes selected Texas legal publications including statutes, case reporters, legal encyclopedias, practice guides with forms, directories, and books written to assist laypersons. Federal materials include U.S. Supreme Court case reporters, the U.S. Code, and the American Jurisprudence legal encyclopedia, as well as books about federal law. The Library's catalog is accessible at http://hip.cor.gov/#focus.
|
University of Texas at Dallas, McDermott Library
|
Address:
|
800 West Campbell Road, Richardson, TX 75080
|
|
Phone:
|
(972) 883-2955
|
|
Hours:
|
M-F 8am-Midnight
Sat 9am-8pm
Sun 1pm-Midnight
|
|
Home Page:
|
http://www.utdallas.edu/library
|
|
Notes:
|
The library maintains a collection of federal and Texas statutes and case reporters, legal encyclopedias, U.S. government depository library materials, but few practice-oriented materials. The Library's catalog is available at http://library.utdallas.edu/vwebv/searchBasic?sk=en_US.
|
COLLIN COUNTY
Collin County Law Library
|
Address:
|
2100 Bloomdale Road, Suite 10216 (1st Floor), McKinney, TX 75071
|
|
Phone:
|
(972) 424-1460, ext. 4255
|
|
Hours:
|
M-F 8am-5pm
|
|
Home Page:
|
http://texasjudge.com/lawlibrary
|
TARRANT COUNTY
Dell Dehay Law Library of Tarrant County
The Law Library of Tarrant County has three locations. The main library is located in downtown Fort Worth in the Tarrant County Courthouse, as noted below. The two branch libraries are located in Hurst and Arlington. Please refer to the Library's Web site below for branch locations and hours.
Texas Wesleyan University School of Law Library
University of Texas at Arlington Central Library
|
Address:
|
702 Planetarium Place, Arlington, TX 76019
|
|
Phone:
|
(817) 272-3000
|
|
Hours:
|
M-F 24 Hours (Restricted admission between midnight and 7am)
|
|
Home Page:
|
http://www.uta.edu/library
|
|
Notes:
|
The library maintains a collection of federal and Texas statutes and case reporters, some legal encyclopedias, U.S. government depository library materials, and some formbooks. The Library's catalog is accessible at: http://pulse.uta.edu/.
|
Last Updated: 6/2011