404 United States Supreme Court
Revised August 2010
LOCATING CURRENT CASES
The Supreme Court opens its term on the first Monday in October and ends in June or July. The most current sources for new cases include free websites and commercial databases, such as Lexis and Westlaw. See below for links to web sources covering both new and older decisions.
Among the print sources, one of the best resources for checking the status of pending cases is BNA’s United States Law Week (USLW). USLW publishes a full list of all the cases docketed with the Court, including summaries of all the cases and the issues under consideration. An index is provided to access the cases by docket number, case name, or by subject. The full texts of all cases are reprinted in USLW as soon as they are available. Current volumes of USLW are kept on reserve at the Circulation Desk.
PRINT SOURCES FOR PUBLISHED DECISIONS
The Court’s published opinions are permanently archived in bound reporters that are organized chronologically. The decisions are first published in advance sheet pamphlets that are then replaced by bound, permanent volumes. The three reporter titles, located in Bay 2-D of the Law Library, are issued by different publishers and differ somewhat in editorial content and publication schedule.
- United States Reports (U.S.), the official reporter, published by the Government Printing Office, includes a syllabus and headnotes written by the official reporter of the Court. Due to the slower publication schedule for this reporter, most researchers rely on the below so-called unofficial reporters.
- Supreme Court Reporter (S. Ct.), West Publishing Company’s unofficial reporter, publishes the official opinions with page references to the official United States Reports. It includes other editorial enhancements, such as West’s headnotes to its American Digest System, and synopses of decisions.
- Lawyer's Edition (L. Ed. and L. Ed. 2d), published by Lexis Publishing, currently in two series. The decisions are supplemented with a summary and headnotes prepared by the editors, along with a wide array of annotations. For select important cases, summaries of briefs submitted and annotations (essays) written by the editorial staff are included in an appendix to each bound volume. Advance sheets do not contain annotations.
Note on Citation Form—a Supreme Court citation will include the name of the parties, the volume number of the reporter(s), the abbreviation for the reporter, the starting page of the opinion, and the date of the opinion. Citations to Supreme Court cases frequently include citations to more than one reporter. However, if a case is fairly old, the citation may be only to the United States Reports if the case is relatively old, and only to the Supreme Court Reporter or U.S. Law Week if it is recent.
USING DIGESTS TO LOCATE DECISIONS BY SUBJECT OR PARTY NAME
-
By Subject-- Use West's United States Supreme Court Digest or Lexis' United States Supreme Court Digest, Lawyers' Edition (both in Bay 2-D) to find Supreme Court Cases on a specific area of law. Use West's Descriptive Word Index or Lexis' Index if your subject term is not cataloged in the main volumes of the digest.
-
By Party Name-- Use the Table of Cases at the end of West's United States Supreme Court Digest or Lexis' United States Supreme Court Digest, Lawyers' Edition (both in Bay 2-D) to find cases by party name. The Lexis digest is more comprehensive in this area.
INTERNET SOURCES FOR U.S. SUPREME COURT DECISIONS
SUBSCRIPTION DATABASES (accessible only to law students & faculty)
- BNA – U.S. Law Week’s Supreme Court Today http://pubs.bna.com/ip/bna/lwt.nsf/mainview?Openview Provides recent decisions, as well as the ability to search for cases by case name, docket number, date, and topic.
- Making of Modern Law- U.S. Supreme Court Records & Briefs http://galenet.galegroup.com/servlet/SCRB?locID=dall39617 This database contains 11 million pages and more than 350,000 separate documents on cases from 1832 – 1978.
- WESTLAW - U.S. Supreme Court Cases; U.S. Supreme Court Cases—Before 1945; Westlaw Bulletin—U.S. Supreme Court; Preview of U.S. Supreme Court Cases.
- LEXIS - U.S. Supreme Court Decisions from 1945; U.S. Supreme Court Digest, Lawyers’ Edition.
LOCATING INFORMATION ABOUT THE SUPREME COURT
The following sources provide background information on the Court. Unless otherwise indicated, these titles are located on the library's 4th floor.
- Understanding Supreme Court Opinions
KF8742 .V36 2007
- The Supreme Court
KF8742 .R47 2001
- The Supreme Court Compendium
KF8742 .S86 2007 (2nd Floor--Reference Collection).
- The American Supreme Court
KF8742 .M23 2005
- Supreme Court of the United States: A Bibliography
KF8741 .A1 R88 2000
- Justices, Presidents and Senators: a History of the U.S. Supreme Court Appointments from Washington to Bush II
KF8742 .A72 2008
- The Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States
KF8742.A35 O93 2005
- Methods of Interpretation: How the Supreme Court Reads the Constitution
KF8742 .B56 2009
- The Supreme Court in the American Legal System
KF8742 .S433 2005
- The Supreme Court: An Essential History
KF8742.Z9 H64 2007
- To locate citations to journal and law review articles that discuss specific Supreme Court cases, search LegalTrac, a web-based index available at http://find.galegroup.com/gtx/start.do?prodId=LT&userGroupName=dall39617, or print indexes such as Index to Legal Periodicals and Current Law Index, available on the third floor in Bay 3-C.
LOCATING RECORDS, BRIEFS, AND ORAL ARGUMENT TRANSCRIPTS
Records, briefs, and oral argument transcripts for U.S. Supreme Court cases are available in a variety of formats. To summarize, there are selected cases in print, a substantial collection in microform, sources on LEXIS and WESTLAW, and sources on the Internet. The following is a description of these resources.